Future Islands


Future Islands are a synthpop band based in Baltimore. The band is composed of Gerrit Welmers, William Cashion, and Samuel T. Herring.

The band met and formed in while studying art at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. Their first band was Art Lord & the Self-Portraits, which lasted from 2003 until 2005. In 2006, Cashion, Herring, and Welmers formed Future Islands with Erick Murillo, who played an electronic drum kit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.