Four Horsemen of the Non-Apocalypse

New Atheism is a social and political movement that began in the early 2000s by a collection of modern atheist writers who have advocated the view that ‘religion should not simply be tolerated but should be countered, criticized, and exposed by rational argument wherever its influence arises.’ During ‘The God Debate’ in 2010 featuring Christopher Hitchens and Dinesh D’Souza four outspoken atheists (Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, Sam Harris, and Daniel Dennett) were referred to as the ‘Four Horsemen of the Non-Apocalypse,’ a cheeky counterpart to the figures in the Book of Revelation.

Harris is a neuroscientist and the author of, ‘The End of Faith,’ ‘Letter to a Christian Nation,’ and ‘The Moral Landscape.’ Biologist Richard Dawkins is the author of ‘The God Delusion,’ which was preceded by a British television documentary titled ‘The Root of all Evil?’ Philosopher Daniel Dennett, author of ‘Darwin’s Dangerous Idea,’ ‘Breaking the Spell,’ and many others, has also been a vocal supporter of ‘The Clergy Project,’ an organization which provides support for clergy in the US who no longer believe in God, and cannot fully participate in their communities any longer. Journalist Christopher Hitchens was the author of ‘God Is Not Great’ and served on the advisory board of the Secular Coalition for America.

One Comment to “Four Horsemen of the Non-Apocalypse”

  1. There are times when I think that men and women whose sole purpose in life is to destroy God are much closer to find Him than those whose sole purpose in life is to praise God.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.