Simian Mobile Disco

temporary pleasure


Simian Mobile Disco are an electronic music duo and production team from London, formed in 2005 by James Ford and Jas Shaw. Musically, they are known for their analog production. In addition to his work with Simian Mobile Disco, Ford is a producer and has worked with artists such as Florence and the Machine, Peaches, Arctic Monkeys, and Klaxons. Simian Mobile Disco originally formed as a DJ duo, on the side of their early four-piece band Simian. They released a number of early tastemaker singles, such as ‘The Mighty Atom / Boatrace / Upside Down’ on I’m a Cliché and ‘The Count’ on Kitsuné, but gained more fame for their remixes of artists such as Muse, Klaxons, The Go! Team, Air, and others.

In 2006, Kitsuné released the duo’s underground hit ‘Hustler,’ which features guest vocals from New York singer Char Johnson. The band’s debut album, ‘Attack Decay Sustain Release’ was released in 2007 on Wichita Recordings. The lead single, ‘It’s the Beat,’ features Ninja from UK indie band The Go! Team on vocals. Their sophomore studio album, ‘Temporary Pleasure’ was released in 2009, and featured many guests including Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip, Beth Ditto of Gossip, and Chris Keating of Yeasayer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.